Are LED Headlights Legal in Arkansas?

LED headlights may seem like the greatest option for vehicle lighting systems. In fact, they indeed are the brightest lights you can get on the market. But they do have their drawbacks. When not manufactured according to the DOT standards, LED headlights may dangerously glare and pose other threats.

Since you are reading this article of mine, I assume you are from Arkansas. And you are curious about the legality of LED headlights in your state. Wise move! Not very many bothers to check out their state laws about vehicle lighting and unknowingly break the rules. This article focuses on the legality of LED headlights in Arkansas. So, let’s get to it.

Are LED Headlights Legal in Arkansas

Automotive Lighting Rules in Arkansas

Here, I tried to clarify the relevant vehicle lighting laws in Arkansas. If you want to scrutinize the rules, I advise checking the related codes. Anyway, these codes in Arkansas are quite similar to other states. But have a look regardless-

When to Keep the Headlights on

  • From half an hour after the sunset to half an hour before sunrise.
  • If the visibility is low enough to render any human or vehicle within 500 feet ahead of the vehicle undiscernible.
  • When you need to use the windshield wiper due to any weathering condition.

Light Intensity-Related Rules

  • Any lamp with 300 candlepower (3771 lumens) or higher must be angled to make its beams only cover the road within 75 feet ahead. The exceptions are headlights, spotlights, auxiliary lights, warning lights, and flashing turn signals.
  • If any headlight cover, coating, tint, or anything such lowers the light intensity (making the light dimmer), it is illegal when the headlights are on.

Lighting Equipment Laws

  • Any vehicle must have two or four headlights in total with equal numbered headlights on each side.
  • Motorcycles must have one or two headlights.
  • Flashing lights are not legal on regular vehicles. But any school bus, emergency vehicle, or such can use them to signal left or right turns. They can also be used during traffic hazards.
  • Fog lights are allowed and optional. But if you do have them, there must be at least two.
  • License plates must be lighted simultaneously with the headlights.

Check out the following list to learn about the required number and height of different vehicle lamps in Arkansas.

  • Headlights: 2 minimum and 4 maximum with a height limit of 24-54”.
  • Taillights: 1 minimum with a height limit of 20-72”.
  • Fog Lights: 2 maximum with a height limit of 12-30”.
  • Spotlights: 2 maximum with unspecified height.
  • Auxiliary Passing Lights: 2 maximum with a height limit of 24-42”.
  • Auxiliary Driving Lights: 2 maximum with a height limit of 16-46”.

Color Restrictions

  • Lamps on the front of the vehicle must not emit red, blue, or green lights. The exceptions are flashing or warning lights on vehicles like school buses or emergency cars.
  • Taillamps must be red and visible from 500 feet to the rear.
  • Reflectors must be red.
  • Stoplights to the rear must be red, amber, or any shade in between. This light must be visible from at least 100 feet to the back in clear weather during the daytime.

So that’s it. Have you spotted anything that can prove the legality of LED lights in Arkansas? Truth be told, I haven’t. Hence, our next go-to is the federal laws to seek anything that can solve our issue once and for all.

Relevant Automotive Lighting Laws by Federal Agencies

When looking for federal laws related to our topic, I found the following two.

Firstly, modifying vehicle headlamps is totally illegal, be it a stock halogen to an LED replacement or vice versa. But you can always replace stock LEDs with OEM LEDs. So, even if your LED bulb is state legal, installing it on a halogen housing is not legal for you.

Other types of modifications include trimming or removing any part. Yes, if you are planning to buy an OEM LED bulb with a size unfit for your vehicle, scrap that idea.

The other rule I found is that beams from the vehicle’s headlights must cover the area 50-100 feet ahead of the car.

After combining both Arkansas state and federal laws, we can conclude that LED headlights are legal in Arkansas. But they must meet certain conditions. For example, it must be factory unit, DOT-approved, fit for your vehicle, and for reflector housings.

Final Note

Arkansas state laws about vehicle lighting cover all the areas, including equipment restrictions, coloring rules, headlight illumination times, etc. You can only use a LED headlight on the state when it has DOT approval and not a random aftermarket product. And it must be manufactured in the correct size and fit for your car.

Leave a Comment